The penalties for marijuana vary from state to state, with some having decriminalized it for recreational and/or medical use, and others still treating it as a Schedule I substance. Marijuana is not decriminalized in Wisconsin, and you could face some serious penalties if you are charged with a marijuana-related offense.

Whether it is possession, cultivation or distribution, pleading guilty to a marijuana crime could potentially leave a mark on your criminal record for the rest of your life.

Possession penalties

The National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Law states that if you are caught with any amount of marijuana in Wisconsin for the first time, you may be charged with a misdemeanor and fined up to $1,000, and you could also face up to six months of jail time. After your first offense, you could be charged with a felony if you are caught again, and the penalties increase to a maximum fine of $10,000 and a maximum sentence of 3.5 years.

Cultivation penalties

Cultivation is growing any amount of marijuana plants. Cultivation of any amount is considered a felony, with penalties ranging from a $10,000 fine and 3.5 years of incarceration for four or fewer plants to a maximum fine of $50,000 and  up to 15 years behind bars for more than 200 plants.

Distribution penalties

Wisconsin calls distribution “sale or delivery,” and any amount you plan on selling could land you with a felony. The fines can range from $10,000 to $50,000 and the incarceration period can range from 3.5 years to 15 years, depending on the amount you are caught moving.